Apply for the REGIOSTARS Awards 2021


Every year, the European Commission awards those EU-funded projects, which demonstrate excellence and new approaches in regional development. With the goal of inspiring other regions across Europe, participating projects are in the spotlight of communication activities at European level.

Thematic focus

The REGIOSTARS are awarded to projects in five thematic categories (smart, sustainable and inclusive growth, urban development and a topic of the year).

In 2021, the REGIOSTARS are focussed on five areas that are crucial part of the EU’s regional policy:

  • SMART Europe: Increasing the competitiveness of local businesses in a digital world
  • GREEN Europe: Green and resilient communities in urban and rural setting
  • FAIR Europe: Fostering inclusion and anti-discrimination
  • URBAN Europe: Promoting green, sustainable and circular food systems in functional urban areas
  • TOPIC OF THE YEAR: Enhancing green mobility in the regions: European Year of Rail 2021

A panel of high-level academics in the respective fields will assess the submitted applications and select the winners.

In addition, the public will decide on its own winner among the finalists through a public on-line vote and award the Public choice award to one of the projects.

How to apply?

A maximum of five projects per Interreg programme can apply. To be considered for nomination, please express your interest by sending an email to along with the draft application form by 15 April 2021. More on all the neccesary information is in the Guide for Applicants.  

After initial assessment, i.e. assessing if the projects, interested to apply, meet the high quality standards necessary for application, the DTP MA/JS will notify the projects if they are qualified to apply and provide the letter of endorsement needed for finalizing their applications for the final submission by 9 May 2021.

The winners in the five categories, and the winner of the public choice, will receive their prize at the REGIOSTARS ceremony, to take place in Dubrovnik, Croatia in December 2021.


Programme co-funded by European Union funds (ERDF, IPA, ENI)