RegioStars Finalists 2016


The winners for the 2016 edition of the RegioStars Awards, the yearly competition honouring Europe's most inspiring and innovating regional projects supported by EU Cohesion Policy Funds, will be announced on Tuesday 11 October in Brussels, during the RegioStars Award Ceremony.

An independent RegioStars Awards Jury, led by MEP Lambert Van Nistelrooij as Jury President, selected 23 finalists from 104 entries on the basis of four key criteria: innovation, impact, sustainability and partnership. 

The 23 selected finalists come from regions and cities in 14 Member States: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. 

The five categories are: Cat. 1 Smart Growth: Emerging opportunities in the global economy; Cat. 2 Sustainable Growth: Circular Economy; Cat. 3 Inclusive Growth: Integrated living – building inclusive communities; Cat. 4 CityStar: Innovative solutions for sustainable urban development; Cat. 5 Effective management: Making a difference by managing differently. 

More information

Programme co-funded by European Union funds (ERDF, IPA, ENI)